Case Study Intercept

Intercept Context

Intercept is a biotech firm dedicated to building a healthier tomorrow for patients with progressive non-viral liver diseases. Since 2002 the company has pioneered a novel scientific platform to answer critical needs in the liver health community.

Intercept commissioned Citoyen to help the company enter the Quebec market and obtain government coverage for a new rare-disease treatment.

The particular challenge of this mandate was to align the product evaluation with the new pan-Canadian process, while ensuring that the evaluation process in Quebec remained on track.

Objectives

Get a new drug for a rare disease added to Quebec’s List of Medications


Strategy

Citoyen achieved this objective using a variety of means. These included lobbying, establishing a dialogue with key individuals at Ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) and Institut national d’excellence en santé et en services sociaux (INESSS), and setting up an advisory committee on the reimbursement of the new treatment.

We also commissioned a study that compared the estimated costs of covering the new drug under Quebec’s public drug insurance plan vs the actual costs of the alternative option, namely a liver transplant. The study found that covering the drug was less expensive, which presented potential savings for Quebec’s health and social services network.

To successfully complete this assignment we had to clearly define the communications angle and content of the key messages, which is why we chose to present the new treatment as a viable, innovative solution in the absence of any other new treatments in the past 20+ years.

Our insiders’ knowledge of the approval process and our ability to effectively target government decision-makers gave Intercept a significant edge.


Results

Our government relations strategies were successful. MSSS agreed to negotiate following a favorable recommendation from INESSS.

The drug is now available in Quebec, to the great benefit of patients across the province.

Key Contacts

View all employees

Étude de cas Intercept

Intercept Contexte

Intercept est une société de biotechnologie qui se consacre à la création d’un avenir plus sain pour les personnes atteintes d’insuffisance hépatique progressive non virale. Depuis 2002, l’entreprise a développé une nouvelle plateforme scientifique pour répondre aux besoins critiques de la communauté de la santé du foie.

Intercept a mandaté Citoyen pour l’accompagner dans ses démarches en vue de pénétrer le marché québécois et obtenir de l’État le remboursement d’un nouveau traitement contre une maladie rare.

Le défi particulier de ce mandat était d’arrimer l’évaluation du produit au nouveau processus pancanadien, tout en s’assurant que le processus d’évaluation propre au Québec suive son cours.

Objectifs

Faire inscrire à la Liste des médicaments du Québec un nouveau médicament pour une maladie rare.


Stratégie

Pour atteindre l’objectif, Citoyen a eu recours à une pluralité de tactiques. Nous avons notamment exercé des activités de lobbyisme, engagé la conversation avec les personnes-clés au ministère de la Santé et des Services sociaux (MSSS) et à l’Institut national d’excellence en santé et en services sociaux (INESSS), et mis en place un comité-conseil sur le remboursement du nouveau traitement.

Nous avons également commandé une étude comparative entre les coûts estimés du remboursement du nouveau médicament par le régime public d’assurance-médicaments et les coûts réels de l’option de rechange, soit la transplantation du foie. À cet égard, il s’est avéré que le remboursement du médicament était moins dispendieux et qu’il y aurait donc des économies potentielles pour le réseau de la santé et des services sociaux du Québec.

Pour mener ce mandat à une conclusion favorable, il était essentiel de bien définir l’angle de communication et la teneur des messages-clés, et c’est pourquoi nous avions fait le choix stratégique de présenter le nouveau traitement comme étant une solution novatrice valable vu l’absence de nouveaux traitements depuis plus de 20 ans.

Finalement, notre connaissance du processus d’approbation et nos interventions auprès des décideurs gouvernementaux ont été de grands avantages.


Résultats

Nos stratégies de relations gouvernementales ont été un succès. En effet, le MSSS a accepté de procéder à une négociation à la suite d’un avis favorable de l’INESSS.

Le médicament est maintenant offert, au plus grand bénéfice des patients du Québec.